A Hunter Education Safety Course has been scheduled for Saturday, February 9, 2019. The 10-hour course will begin at 8:00 a.m. at the Mississippi State University Extension Office, locate at 16463 US Hwy 49, Suite A, in Belzoni. Hunter Education classes are mandatory for any individual seeking to purchase a Mississippi hunting license if he or she was born on or after January 1, 1972. Anyone hunting in the state of Mississippi 12-16 years of age must have a certificate of satisfactory completion from a safety course approved by the MS Department of Wildlife & Fisheries. Hunters under the age of 12 must be in the presence and under the direct supervision of a licensed or exempt hunter who is at least 21 years of age. This course is available to everyone. However, under Mississippi legal guidelines, no one under 10 years of age can be certified. Please have your social security number available the day of the course. Parents may leave their child or children but each person is responsible for his or her own lunch arrangements.
All students must pre-register online. For more information about Hunter Education or to find a class near you, visit us at www.mdwfp.com/huntered or call us at 601-432-2400 or 601-859-3421 or 662-247-3886.
The Mississippi State University Extension Service provides educational opportunities to the public on an equal opportunity basis and will make every reasonable effort to accommodate individuals with disabilities that would interfere with their ability to receive the educational information being provided. If you have a disability or impairment, please advise 662-247-2915 before the program begins and he/she will work with you to participate in this training.
Discrimination based upon race, color, region, sex, national origin, age, disability, or veteran status is a violation of federal and state law and MSU policy and will not be tolerated. Discrimination based upon sexual orientation or group affiliation is violation of MSU policy and will not be tolerated.