During a burn ban, anything with an open flame that produces an ember is not allowed!
According to Mississippi Forestry Commission Burn bans are in affect for:
Yazoo County through November 10th, 2022
Humphreys County through October 31st, 2022
Washington County through October 31st, 2022
Sunflower County through October 31st, 2022
What is a Burn Ban?
Burn bans are restrictions on outdoor burning during drought or wildfire conditions. The County Board of Supervisors normally requests burn bans, and the Mississippi Forestry Commission approves the requests. All burn bans expire at midnight on the stated date of expiration.
A burn ban means no outdoor burning of ANY KIND.
The local sheriff’s department enforces burn bans. Any person who knowingly and willfully violates a burning ban is guilty of a misdemeanor. These persons may receive a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $500.*
Exemptions from a Burn Ban
- Mississippi Forestry Commission
- Certified Burn Managers
- County Fire Services
- Commercial contractors with heavy construction equipment, providing that said burn meets Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality (MDEQ) regulations. Read MDEQ’s open burning regulations on their website
- Agricultural field burn
What is Not Allowed During a Burn Ban
Anything with an open flame that produces an ember is not allowed during a burn ban. The wind can carry floating embers away from the original fire and start a spot fire up to one-half mile away from the burning area. This includes:
- Fire pits
- Fire rings
- Burn barrels
- Debris burning
- Field burning
What is Allowed During a Burn Ban
- Propane / Gas grills
- Propane / Gas heaters
- Charcoal grills
Use these items as described by their manufacturer, safely away from combustible materials, and never left unattended. Dispose of them properly after use.
Charcoal grill briquettes are of great concern. After use, always let the coals cool completely and douse in water before disposing of them in a metal container. The residual ash should be cold to the touch before disposal.
*Section 49-19-351 of MS Code of 1972, as amended.
Go to Outdoor Burn Bans | Mississippi Forestry Commission (ms.gov) to check for updates to burn bans in your area.